Helium concentration determination

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Helium concentration determination
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Eric on Wednesday, February 7, 2001 - 03:42 pm:

I need to analyze gas samples that contain a mixture of He/Ar, or He/N2 and determine the %He in the mixture. I have been sending my results to two seperate labs. One uses a Mass Spectrometer and the other a gas chromatograph. The difference in the results from the two labs is about 6%[He], with the mass spec. being low compared to the GC.

Any idea why there would be such a large difference?

Does anyone know of a GC that can determine %He in a mixture of Ar or N2?

I tend to trust the mass spec. as when it was used to test the %He in a certified premixed gas is matched the results of a third lab within 1%.

Thanks for the help. I am quite new to GC testing.

Eric

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Friday, February 9, 2001 - 10:00 am:

You may be able to perform the analysis using a Carboxen 1006 GC column (Supleco) and sub-ambient oven cooling (you may need to go as low as 0 or -10C). We have been able to separte O2 and N2 with such a system. We used He carrier gas and a thermal conductivity detector. The TCD is not as sensitive as a MS or FID. Its sensitivity depends on the difference in thermal conductivity between the carrier gas and the analyte. At 6% He, I believe nitrogen carrier gas will provided a reasonable signal. Good luck.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Spencer on Friday, February 9, 2001 - 09:56 pm:

Any conventional GC can do what you want it to do. Use a gas sampling valve and a molecular sieves column with TCD detection. Choose your carrier gas wisely.