Do I have a problem with my split vent?

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Do I have a problem with my split vent?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Monday, February 11, 2002 - 03:35 pm:

I have a Varian GC/Ion Trap MS system. The GC is a CP-3800 and the MS is a Saturn 2000. I am new to GC and suspect, but am not sure, that there may be a problem with my split vent. When I am working splitless mode with mobile phase at a constant flow of 1.0 mL/minute, the total flow read from the status screen is 15.3 mL/minute. I thought that when in splitless, all flow went onto the column and thus total flow and column flow reading would be the same. If this is not the case, then where is the other 14.3 mL/minute flow (15.3 mL/minute total minus the 1.0 mL/minute column flow) going? Incidentally, the same happens when working in splitless with constant pressure. I came across this when trying to troubleshoot my instrument after failing to obtain an analyte peak while in splitless mode. Could my failure to get a peak be because my sample is being split even though it is in splitless mode (as a result instrument malfunction) and thus being diluted below the limit of detection. I got a nice separation of the same compound (at higher concentration) when performing split. I would appreciate any insight that you would be willing to share.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Bruce Freeman on Tuesday, February 12, 2002 - 01:12 pm:

I don't know the Varian instrument since I work exclusively with HP/Agilent GC's. HP had a peculiar way of plumbing an instrument (which I happen to like), but I will assime that those peculiarities are irrelevant to this question.

In "splitless" mode ("Grob splitless", to be a little more definitive), the sequence of events is as follows: