Measurement of gas component by GC

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Measurement of gas component by GC
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Canny on Wednesday, February 13, 2002 - 02:48 am:

I am a student in Netherlands.Now I'm do my traineeship in a company,my work is to measure some component in gas,i want to know some detail information about how to measure them by GC.
Thank you!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Rodney on Wednesday, February 13, 2002 - 06:35 am:

Dear Canny

Your desire for detailed information is good. But due to the lack of detailed information given it is difficult to give you a good answer, however:

Gas sample components are usually measured by mole percent.

They are injected using a fixed loop valving system with the loop equilibrated to atmospheric pressure.

They are calibrated using commercial standards.

If I have not been as helpful as you wished, sorry, but please give the forum a few more details next time.

best wishes,

Rodney George
Supelco

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Canny on Thursday, February 14, 2002 - 02:13 am:

The normal GC refers to GLC,but I know GSC is a way to measure the component in gas,especially the low-molecular-mass gases,such as air component,carbon dioxide,nitric oxides.

The information I found from Internet is almost about GLC, who know something about GSC or are there some experience in doing such experiment to measure gas by GC?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Thursday, February 14, 2002 - 06:05 am:

Canny,