Quantify by capillary column

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Quantify by capillary column
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Pierre Leblanc on Thursday, February 14, 2002 - 06:15 am:

I am a young scientist and I need a help from expperienced analyst. my question is when I use capillary column to quantify , should I use the hight or the surface of the peak and why?
Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Bruce Freeman on Thursday, February 14, 2002 - 12:56 pm:

The answer depends upon a number of factors. Peak height can be more precise, but that statement comes with considerable qualification.

Typically, quatitation in chromatography is done by the "external standard" technique, in which you quantitatively compare a peak in the chromatogram of your sample to the corresponding peak in the chromatogram of the standard. If the peak shapes are identical in sample and standard, then peak height can be the better method. Otherwise, peak area must be used. Matrix effects can often skew or otherwise affect the shape of a peak. Peak width is a good quick way of gauging peak shape -- any difference in width between sample and standard means that peak height is an unreliable measure.

Then, too, is the question of how the peak height is measured. In the bad old days this was done with a ruler -- or by reading from the chart paper scale. This was a great deal more accurate than planimetry or "cut and weigh" techniques for measuring peak area. We've come a long way from those days with electronic measurements, but note that peak height has to be measured at the peak apex.