Peak response changes: headspace-GC-FID

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Peak response changes: headspace-GC-FID
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By don wycoff on Wednesday, September 18, 2002 - 12:49 pm:

Hello everyone.
I have encountered a GC-headspace sampler problem and could use some help. We have been using an HP 6890 GC with an HP 7694 headspace sampler and an FID detector. Our method requires that the linearity correlation coefficient of three standards injected before and after the samples be greater than 0.995. Normally this requirement is easily met with R values of 0.999 and 1.000 for most runs. Occasionally however, the system fails. The response of the second set of standard injections is sometimes as low as 80% of the first set, and the R value for the set of six injections is consequently less than 0.995. The drop off in peak response is a puzzle. I am a little new to GC (especially headspace analysis) and a little uncertain as to what the most likely cause of the problem might be. I've been advised that the FID is not likely the source of the response changes. That leaves the headspace sampler. I am aware that changes in headspace carrier gas flow rates have large effects on the amount of sample introduced into the GC, but I don't know whether it is likely that those flow rates might change during the course of a run or what might cause such changes. All other aspects of the chromatograms are fine. Retention times and peak shapes never vary. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Thursday, September 19, 2002 - 02:11 am:

Maybe you can check the connection between sampler and GC. Sometimes it is leaking.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Rod on Thursday, September 19, 2002 - 05:25 am:

The most common cause of this error is a mistake in making the stds.