Relative V Absolute Recovery

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Relative V Absolute Recovery
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Robbie on Thursday, September 2, 1999 - 08:22 pm:

I am a grad student at the Medical College of Georgia. I am developing a GC/MS procedure for fentanyl, sufentayl, and alfentanyl. I have been having some problems finding sources on the diffence between relative and absolute recovery. My professor refusses help me on this one. There are some GC/MS books in our library (Sunshine, Tietz, but no Watson), but I have not found anything yet. I would like to know the difference between the two and a procedure acceptible for GC/MC procedure development. I am not really lazy I have been looking for a while, and I have found nothing on absolute recovery (Medline, library books, etc.). Please donate a good source for this info. It is going to a good cause. mp4543@medmail.mcg.edu

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Wednesday, September 8, 1999 - 11:21 am:

I'm confused......
Recovery relative to what? Are you talking about recoveries relative to fortified samples? Those would typically be near 100%. Recoveries relative to theoretical values? Could be anything. The chemist usually needs to know both values when finished with a method, and has to judge whether they are good enough for the purpose of the data.

I don't know the drug field--maybe there are legal requirements for the type of study you are doing.

I've never seen a formal procedure for developing methods, but in general:

Research the chemical(s) of interest-- solubility data, metabolites, spectral and chromatographic characteristics, etc. Manufacturers are usually excellent sources of info. Talk to anyone who might be able to help--what this forum is about.