Help in Headspace Analysis Requested

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Help in Headspace Analysis Requested
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By sundar Bala on Thursday, April 24, 2003 - 02:08 pm:

I am a graduate student working on headspace analysis of fresh meat. I am trying to comeup with a method in which I can use a syringe for static headpsace anlysis (instead of SPME technique). However I am not seeing any distinct peaks inspite of the fact that the meat is spoiled.

I am interested in gases like Decane, undecane, ethyl acetate, pentanol, nonanol, methyl-butanone, xylenes, hydrogen sulfide, etc.

The column I am using is a 30 m long , 0.25 mm dia column with 0.25 micron thick coating of 5% phenyl (XTi-5 , Restek Corp capillary column).

Can anyone give me some suggestions as to how I should conduct my experiments to notice some distinct peaks (any peak is fine)? How should I draw the sample from the headspace vials? Should I boil the meat piece?

I would appreciate your response.

Thank you!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Friday, April 25, 2003 - 03:00 am:

The crucial point is getting enough analytes into you syringe. The key to this is increasing the temperature.
Maybe you should look for a lab that has a HS autosampler with a closed HS system (e.g. HP or PE) autosampler and ask them to do a run for you.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Ralph Calvert on Friday, April 25, 2003 - 03:27 am:

Sundar,

What detector will you be using? Are you hoping to analyse the volatiles from spoilt/tainted meat rather than fresh meat?