Help in Headspace Analysis using SPME Requested

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: Help in Headspace Analysis using SPME Requested
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Thursday, August 7, 2003 - 10:01 am:

hi

I am new to handling a GC-MS and am trying to analyze the headspace from meat packets. I am using a SPME filament PDMS (non-polar) and carb/pdms (bi-polar) filaments as most of the volatiles I am concerned with are sulfides, hydrocarbons, esters, ketones and alcohols. I would like to know the proper method for sampling the headspace using the filament. The meat samples are placed in vials and are left outside (30 C). I heat the raw meat (in vials) at 50C in a hotplate for 20 minutes and then sample the headspace at the same temperature for 3 minutes.
But I find very small peaks or no peaks at all, even though I know the meat is spoiled.

I am using a 30m long and 0.25 mm dia column coated with 0.25 microns 5% phenyl and 95 dimethyl polysiloxane. Its a non-polar column.

Can anyone give me suggestions as to how I should proceed in sampling the headspace, transfer it to the GC inlet and also if I should go for a longer column with a bigger diameter and more micron thickness?

I also feel that I have to apply more pressure to puncture the vial top. Will this damage the filament?

Can anyone please help me out with your valuable suggestions??

Thanks!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Thursday, August 7, 2003 - 03:43 pm:

I have done a lot of spme, but not, unfortunately, of meat. You should probably collect for more than 3 minutes. For some applications, an hour is necessary. Changing the column will not help increase your peak area and your column should be suitable for a wide range of compounds. I wouldn't go out and buy a new one until I had improved my sample collection and found that I required better resolution.