GC sensitivity

Chromatography Forum: GC Archives: GC sensitivity
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Friday, September 19, 2003 - 11:01 pm:

Hi,

Recently, i bought a GC and i am still an amateur. I read a lot of books about GC and i have a question. Do type of carrier gases used affect GC sensitivity e.g. the GC sensitivity is significantly better if we use Hydrogen gas compare to Helium gas as the carrier gas?? Please guide me if i am wrong. Thank you very much in advance. I would be glad if anyone can shed some light on this matter.

Regards,
steven

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Saturday, September 20, 2003 - 12:08 am:

which type of detector if you are using

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Tuesday, September 30, 2003 - 06:37 am:

It depends on the analysis You make. Detector incl. Give us more input.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Wednesday, October 1, 2003 - 05:11 am:

Capillary or packed columns?

Generally the carrier does not make a difference in detector sensitivity.

For some detectors some gases are not possible to be used.

For the universal flame ionization detector, the present designs give better sensitivity with nitrogen as the column makeup gas, that is if you need a makeup gas, packed column don't need it.

PID, ECD, TCD generally work longer and better with Helium carrier, GENERALLY.

pHID detectors require a high purity of Helium and won't work well with Hydrogen or Nitrogen.

TCDs may have a hot wire or a coated thermister and depending upon the analyte work better with nitrogen or helium.

Books could be written and have been. Read them.

Good luck.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  By Anonymous on Thursday, October 2, 2003 - 06:34 am: